Home

Seven is my lucky number, so I was very happy to plan our wedding for June 7th forty-five years ago this week. Pete and I had both just finished the school year. Indeed, Pete spent that Saturday morning doing paperwork at the school were we met. He was the guidance counselor, and I was the Bible teacher in a Tennessee public junior high school.

His pick-up line for me was, “What’s a good looking lady like you doing teaching Bible?” That worked for me.

Image

It is now 45 years later, and we are happily married. Sometime during those years I read a book by Judith Wallerstein and Sandra Blakeslee called “The Good Marriage.” She describes different types of marriages and how they work. I found myself described in this paragraph:

“Every good marriage provides healing. We marry with the hope that our sadnesses will be comforted, that a loving partner will redress the loneliness, rejections, and disappointments of life.” For me, this dream continues to come true day by day.

Usually I write a lot, but today I cannot improve on these words to the song, “You Needed Me” by Randy Goodrum. (No, I did not make up that guy’s last name.)

I cried a tear

You wiped it dry

I was confused

You cleared my mind

I sold my soul

You bought it back for me

And held me up and gave me dignity

Somehow you needed me.

You gave me strength

To stand alone again

To face the world

Out on my own again

You put me high upon a pedestal

So high that I could almost see eternity

You needed me

You needed me

And I can’t believe it’s you

I can’t believe it’s true


I needed you and you were there


And I’ll never leave, why should I leave


I’d be a fool


‘Cause I’ve finally found someone who really cares

You held my hand


When it was cold


When I was lost


You took me home


You gave me hope


When I was at the end


And turned my lies


Back into truth again


You even called me friend



You needed me…

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “45 and Counting

Leave a Reply

