Home

I never liked dogs until the day I met Ginger. As soon as I sat down on the sofa, Ginger, who was a big Irish setter, jumped up beside me. I was scared, but she immediately sat down, and laid her head on my shoulder. It was love at first sight as her doleful eyes looked longingly into mine.

images-14

All my reasons for not liking dogs – they are dirty, they jump on things, they bite, they bark – went flying out the window. The logical part of my brain asked, “If even dogs love, where does this come from?”

Don’t tell me to believe something just because it feels good. I am Doubting Thomas after all. Give me evidence. And I think I have plenty of evidence to believe in Jesus Christ – historical, eyewitness type evidence. Many people knew Jesus’ dead body was missing, but didn’t care. Those who looked into Jesus’ eyes saw the reality of love, a love that changes the whole universe in an instant. Ask yourself where this notion of love came from. Dogs sense it. Genesis tells us we are created in the image of God. It means we create because He creates, we think because He thinks, we love because He loves. Oh, and BTW, one name for God the Hebrew Scriptures is El Shaddai meaning the nurturer or “breasted one” – think women. Yes, men and women are in the image of God.

So next time you start to wonder if there really is a God who created us, look into the eyes of someone you love, or remember the first time ever you saw that face. Hey, look at your pet and know there is a God who loves you. Is there a reason why GOD spelled backwards is DOG?

Here is Roberta Flack singing, “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face.”

I suspect cats love us too.

photo

 

Leave a Reply

