Home

As the “Church Lady” I do not have the power and influence of the Pope or the President. Hey, I don’t even have the influence of the Prime Minister of the UK. But that never stopped me from writing my piece.

IMG_0064

What do I think about the Charlie Hebdo gang? I despise them. Their cartoons make me want to vomit. Using a cross to masturbate? A slut giving birth to a smiling baby? The holy trinity committing anal sex? http://imgur.com/WsO6OCY

But then, I have to ask, “Why is a cross the symbol of Christianity? Why do we Christians allow pictures of our spiritual head being tortured to death, naked, on a cross? No Muslim would ever tolerate such a picture of Muhammed. Indeed, they do not believe Jesus is the greatest prophet precisely because no God would ever have allowed his “son” to be executed in shame.

Let’s take a look at Jesus on that cross, if you can stand to look. (I was unable to watch the movie, “The Passion of the Christ.”) Picture this: Jesus hung there and prayed that those who were torturing and killing him be forgiven, “For they know not what they do.”

min-jesus-on-trial

At a gut level I have never understood Jesus’ teaching to “Love your enemies and pray for those who despitefully use you” until the Charlie Hebdo satire, and the Muslim killings of them hit the news. Suddenly, my eyes filled with tears. I cried, “Jesus, forgive my enemies – those who have abused and despitefully used me.” In my heart I knew I had never been able to do this before.

Why have no Christians attacked and killed the Hebdo gang. How about some Jews? Any Buddhists? Hindus? Even Piers Morgan, raised a Catholic, didn’t want the pope talking about punching someone if they insulted his mother. That’s just not Christian.http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2911990/PIERS-MORGAN-did-turning-cheek-turn-punching-face-Pope-Francis-does-mean-s-OK-shoot-too.html#ixzz3Ovorwyed

But it is human. Who killed Jesus after all? Jews? Romans? Saul, later called Paul the apostle? Peter, the disciple who denied ever knowing him? Me? Yes. All of us killed Jesus. “All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned everyone to his own way; and the Lord hath laid on him the iniquity of us all.” Isaiah 53:6

So what do I want to write to the Charlie Hebdo gang? What would I say to the radical Muslims who murdered them? What do I say to myself? I would say to all of us, “Look at the face of Jesus on the cross. Read his words again. ‘Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.’”

The Christians are winning, not by wars, not by slaughter, not by terrorism, but by love. Jesus “could have called ten thousand angels to destroy the world and set him free.” Instead “He died alone for you and me.”

Ray Overholt writes: “Sometime later I found myself singing at a small church. I sang, ‘He Could Have Called Ten Thousand Angels.’ Following my singing, the preacher spoke a message that gripped my heart. I knew I needed Christ, so I knelt there and accepted, as my Savior, the One whom I had been singing and writing about.” http://www.hymnalaccompanist.com/Story/Ten%20Thousand%20Angels.html

Ray Overholt writes: “Sometime later I found myself singing at a small church. I sang, ‘He Could Have Called Ten Thousand Angels.’ Following my singing, the preacher spoke a message that gripped my heart. I knew I needed Christ, so I knelt there and accepted, as my Savior, the One whom I had been singing and writing about.” http://www.hymnalaccompanist.com/Story/Ten%20Thousand%20Angels.html

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Picture the Cross

  1. Hi Paula,

    I enjoy my individual exchanges with you, but don’t want to be on a mailing list focused on Christianity. Just like I wouldn’t add you to an email list about Buddhism. I know your intentions are good, but I’m already overwhelmed with email, and I don’t even have time to look at these messages, let alone respond with a different point of view.

    Thanks so much, Paula, and I hope things are going well.

    Love,

    Anthony

  2. Hi Anthony, Yes, I understand. Our main connection, sadly, is Lyme disease. I have great respect for your beliefs and brilliance. I can only add that I do mention Hinduism in this post. I think you will appreciate what I wrote!!

Leave a Reply

